A random Weblog


I lost my Jawbone Up24
April 4, 2014, 1:45 pm
Filed under: Technology | Tags: , , , , ,

I did it again

After my 48-hour kill on my Withings Pulse fitness tracker, I did some more research and purchased the Jawbone Up24 wrist band.  But somehow I lost it within two weeks 😦

Of course I didn’t notice at the time that it came off, but I knew as soon as I got home that it was missing. Very annoying – and this is getting expensive.

In the time I had it though, it proved surprisingly good as the info from the app does motivate actions. E.g. I tried getting to bed earlier, walking during the office day, and so on.  The app is mature and works well, the device is simple and OK in use – but as it only wraps around your wrist and does not fasten like a watch, it is susceptible to being hooked on something and coming off.  Does this mean I now go for the Fitbit Force or something as my next choice?  Meh, no I’ve wasted enough on these wearables.

But for this experience, the Jawbone was pretty good. The low-power bluetooth allows for easy syncing to the app, and it only needs to be charged every 5 to 7 days (I only got to charge it twice before I lost it – but it seemed to run a while on a single charge).  One part of the app I really liked was the sleep analysis, it made me think about sleep in a new way – and my daily goal of 10,000 steps was motivating.

A good device, works well. Nice app. Easy to use. BUT, either my bad luck or a weakness in the design as it sure didn’t take long for mine to go missing…

 

Jawbone Up24

Jawbone Up24

 

 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

i just lost my second UP24…. They easily come off my arm, I don’t want to spend the money for another. It’s a shame, I loved it.

Comment by Danielle




Leave a Reply

